Audio interface for the Icom IC756ProII

Today I spent some time modifying the audio interface that I used to use with my Icom IC706MKIIG, so that it would work with the IC756ProII. I removed the 13pin DIN and replaced with with an 8 pin microphone plug. Unfortunately I didn’t’ have much cable so I had to make do with what I had. The box contains two 6.5mm phono sockets wired up to the microphone plug. One socket is for PTT, the other for audio. PTT is operated via foot switch. It is important when setting up something like this, that you adjust the microphone gain, and mixer so that your ALC is as per the manufacturer’s recommended settings.

Author: vk2kmi

ham radio operator ,sailplane pilot, flying instructor, trainer, ex small business owner, ex 4x4 tour guide, ex photojournalist, vintage tech geek and North Queensland girl, keen blogger, writer, photographer, training professional, trans-woman, Lean Management Professional, Inclusiveness and Diversity Activist, Photojournalist, Student of Indigenous Studies, Political Science & the Indigenous Australian language Pitjantjatjara. Now living in Sydney.

Leave a comment