Home > Uncategorized > I Need to Restore Before I Restore

I Need to Restore Before I Restore

Today I began preparing a list of parts required to restore my Echopone EC-1, and familiarizing myself with the alignment procedure. I also made a list of parts required to interface the test equipment with the radio.  It was at this point that I realized things would be a whole lot simpler if I used a Vacuum Tube Voltmeter for the RF alignment. While I can use my signal generator and my oscilloscope for the IF alignment, I liked the simplicity of using a VTVM for the RF alignment.

There is only one problem. I have a habit of purchasing vintage test equipment that needs restoring, for example my capacitance tester and other items. So it is with my VTVM which is a Heathkit V-5. Made in 1952, the V-5 like all electronics of that era, uses wax and paper capacitors. These capacitors will almost certainly have failed or will fail if I power the unit. So it is that I added to the list of parts, two capacitors required to restore the V-5. Of course it won;t be as simple as replacing the capacitors- I will have to check all resistors and calibrate the unit as well as make a probe for it. But the beauty is, I will have a working VTVM that like my radios is from an earlier time.

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

