Home > HF > The Saga of the FT101E Rectifier Board

The Saga of the FT101E Rectifier Board

Recently I brought all of my vintage radios out of storage including an FT101E. Anyone who owns one will tell you, that they don’t like to be stored, they need to be used or they stop working. This one had done just that on most bands, so I set to, going through the alignment procedure. Rather than try to remove the mains chord from behind the radio bench, I hose to use a spare on I had. Unfortunately it was, I suspect, incorrectly wired for the FT101E. When connected and turned on, R1 on the rectifier board promptly went “bang.”

I purchased the appropriate 5.6K 2W resistor some weeks ago and today got around to installing it. All went well except that now I have a solid hum from the speaker even with the AF gain at zero. gah!

Categories: HF
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

