Home > Daily News > iMac Reboot

iMac Reboot

My business used to have a stack of iMac’s but many of them had been sold off. Two were in storage in my old home town. Recently I was able to bring one of them back and almost simultaneously got offered another at a ridiculously low price. While I was retrieving the old iMac from storage I located two 3Gb drives that I had intended to put in the business iMacs as the hard drives were a bit small.

To cut a long story short the brilliant offer turned out to be a bit of a dud as the hard disk failed within 48 hrs so I robbed the RAM out of it to speed up the other. Finally this weekend I got a chance to see what I could do with the dead one.

14183898_1286051868112433_3944453974801174693_n

After plugging in an ethernet cable, and replacing the RAM with some I had retrieved from storage,  I found that the machine would not boot, there was no chime and a black screen at start up and diagnostic LED4 was out. My years as technical troubleshooter soon came to the fore- what has changed? The RAM! Aha yes, I had accidentally put two different spec cards in it. A quick change and a slight reduction in overall memory later, I got 4 LEDs lit and a backlit screen.

14232445_1286050208112599_2806474377544311697_n

Now to the hard disk problem. I hate the process of making bootable USBs but luckily I recalled I had a bootable USB with OSX Yosemite Installer on it. Once I restarted the machine with that baby in the slot, it came to life. A run of the diagnostics demonstrated a failed hard disk. So off came the front bezel and the LCD screen and in went a new HDD. Booting into off the installer, I got OSX Yosemite installed and then upgraded to OSX 10.11 El Capitan. Using the Time Machine backup from the other iMac I installed all my favourite applications and settings and … now? It Lives!

14184338_1286094728108147_2461047156271420062_n

Categories: Daily News Tags: , ,
  1. Dennis
    September 5, 2016 at 6:21 am

    Very good K arn’t you just a clever puss, lol, bugger the imac’s I am starting to debel into the first few lines of Python on linux, not sure what I am doing but some of it may leave impressions on my grey matter, been a bit busy lately, looking after a friends Mum, but her sister came last night and her daughter is coming up on the school holidays to sort out full time care for her. Good on all the stuff your doing, I only vaguely heard some cw this morning, but was not concentrating had my mind on feedpoints and feedlines. Cheers and best wishes Kimberly

    • vk2kmi
      September 5, 2016 at 9:35 am

      Thanks Dennis, I had a dabble in python on Linux a while back. Will get back into it again one day, have a half finished course to do. Yes I had a quick chat to Rob re WX and such. Off to Lismore very early tomorrow so won’t be on air. Keep they grey matter working

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

