Home > Daily News, HF, Home Brew, Uncategorized > 80m Apartment HF- The Monster in My Bedroom

80m Apartment HF- The Monster in My Bedroom

I have been toiling away on a mag loop antenna for the 80m band. I needed it to be cheap, I also wanted to be able to use it on other bands later, with some modifications.

Since my balcony is not really big enough for a larger mag loop, I decided to make a loop that took up the entire wall of my bedroom which is my radio shack. The problem with this idea is that I suspect the building is one huge faraday cage. We will see when I am finished. If it turns out that it is a faraday cage, I will go to plan B which if it happens, you will see blogged here.

Screen Shot 2016-08-21 at 06.33.52

To keep costs down I made the capacitor out of RG213 coaxial cable which has capacitance of about 1pF/cm thus my design required aprox 195 cm of cable. Tuning will be via a homemade trimmer capacitor consisting of two printed circuit board blanks attached to the end of the coaxial cable. By making this cable removable, I will be able to interchange various lengths to change bands.

 

  1. Felix vk4fuq
    August 20, 2016 at 8:52 pm

    G’day mate, the magnetic loops can be very impressive antennas for their diminutive size, but the key to good performance is keeping losses as low as possible. I hope yours works out well! Regards, Felix vk4fuq.

    • vk2kmi
      August 20, 2016 at 10:05 pm

      Hi Felix. I hope it does as well. My main concern is the amount of steel in the high rise building, but I do have a plan B. Thanks for the comment 73 de Kimberly VK2KMI

  1. August 21, 2016 at 6:47 pm
  2. August 22, 2016 at 9:01 am

Leave a Reply

