Home > CW, Daily News, HF > Morning CW I Miss You

Morning CW I Miss You

Since moving from acreage in Northern Queensland (home of the Gnarly Net), to a one bedroom apartment in a high rise building in Sydney, I miss my morning morse code. Finally I have my radio set up and I can hear the Gnarly Net people doing their morse code in the mornings but my ear is way out of practice after a year and a bit without any practice. My mobile whip antenna hanging off the balcony picks up lots of electrical noise making it difficult to copy. I had not yet tried transmitting CW with it but I gave it a go this morning at 0530 and got a 549 report from Rob VK4ARQ in Mt Fox about 2040 kilometres away from me. Feeling pretty stoked.

Screen Shot 2016-08-15 at 05.59.18

Next project is a big mag loop antenna which I hope will be quieter but as efficient as the whip or better.

Thanks Rob and Dennis

PS Mike VK4MIK your key will be on the way back to you this week.

Categories: CW, Daily News, HF Tags: , , ,
  1. January 22, 2017 at 4:59 pm

    I like CW, too. Few years ago I managed to complete several QSOs on 80 mtrs with VK using my 4 W QRP rig and LW abt 5 mtrs up and abt 25 mtrs long. Exciting. I live in a village, so I have no problems with QRN.
    Take care
    9A9RA, Milan

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

