Home > Uncategorized > My Third SOTA Activation- Castle Hill VK4/NH-136

My Third SOTA Activation- Castle Hill VK4/NH-136

IMG_0157

Icom IC703 in backpack. Linked dipole in a small tree.

IMG_0156

View from the summit almost straight down

IMG_0155

World War II pillbox

IMG_0153

Operating position

IMG_0152

Lovely morning

IMG_0150

Looking towards Cape Pallarenda

IMG_0149

Don’t worry about him

IMG_0148

Nice operating desk

I had planned to arrive at 5 am but I was pretty tired after my very late finish at Mt Marlow yesterday and the 16 kilometres I had walked. I managed to get to the summit of Castle HIll at about 630 am and was set up about 3 minutes later. Castle Hill is in the centre of the city and is the place for the Young Urban professional to exercise. Hundred os walkers, runners and cyclist will be encountered on the road and on the walking tracks. I drove to the bottom car park area near the old Panorama restaurant and then walked to the summit. I made quite a few contacts on 80m but nothing at all on 40m CW. Conditions very poor at present due to solar flare and CME.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

