Home > Daily News > F Call Bashers- You Are an Embarrassment and a Disgrace to the Hobby

F Call Bashers- You Are an Embarrassment and a Disgrace to the Hobby

Here in Australia there exists a foundation call, an entry level licence intended to grow the hobby we love, by giving people an opportunity to qualify for some privileges within the amateur radio community thus allowing them an entry into the hobby. The foundation call recognises the modern world is a busy place and long held dreams to be a ham radio operator are sometimes not fulfilled because life gets in the way. Without a foot in the door, it is difficult to find the motivation to complete the study required for a standard or advanced call. My own dream began in 1978 and despite study at the time, I never completed my novice call. Only in 2008 after the F call became available did I realise my dream. Once I had a foot in the door, the community that welcomed me, encouraged me to continue my studies and qualify for the standard call. I am now studying for the advanced. Had I encountered the F Call bashers when I was an F Call, I would have abandoned the hobby in a second. These guys see themselves  as some kind of elitist society that is somehow diluted by the existence of lesser qualified but keen and interested members. These guys do incredible harm to the hobby and deserve to be  ignored completely. It is time to starve these oxygen thieves out of existence. They occupy the social networks, spreading their vitriol to any who will respond. My advice, don’t respond at all.

“It is not the class of licence the amateur radio operator holds, that is important, it is the class of the amateur radio operator holding the licence”

In addition, I’d advise F Calls to always act in the most professional manner you can. Find a trusted, well respected member of the ham community to act as your Elmer and seek advice from them about all aspects of the hobby. Avoid using CB language, always use full call signs,  know your band and mode limitations and stick to them.

Categories: Daily News
  1. January 7, 2014 at 2:52 pm

    Hello David, excellent blog. I like the quote very much. We know a foundation or novice license as well in the Netherlands (PD calls). And indeed sometimes people behave as what they are used to on CB. But overall these people are mostly serious operators that want more serious operating then CB. It is indeed a good advice for them to seek a experienced HAM. 73, Bas

  2. Tim
    February 8, 2014 at 11:43 am

    David, couldn’t agree more with your comments. I was surprised to hear comment from a local F call (for whom I was the examiner when he obtained his licence) who said he had been given a hard time due to his F call. In my mind there is no place for that in our hobby and those offenders should be ashamed of themselves, and probably lose there privlages. Cheers de Tim, VK5AV.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

