Home > APRS > APRS- Townsville 40m iGate Running Again

APRS- Townsville 40m iGate Running Again

Since cyclone Yasi, my HF APRS iGate on 40 metres (7036.50 kHz) has been out of action.I now have it operational again, along with a fill-in digi on VHF (145.175MHz).

For the HF igate, I was hoping to eventually use my old Codan 8528 but until I can get the appropriate cables made up for the soundcard interface, I’ll use the Icom IC703 with SignalinkUSB.

So my setup now is  AGWTracker and Packet Engine Pro running on an intel iMac running Windows7 – my PC died yesterday.

I have audio from the HF radio fed via SignalLinkUSB through Packet Engine Pro to AGWTracker.

For VHF I have the same computer connected to a TT4 running KISS TNC via Packet Engine Pro, and getting a nice stream of data into AGWTracker. The radio is a Kenwood TM201A.

My desire now is to have the HF ported to VHF, but it isn’t quite clear to me how this is achieved in AGWTracker or PEPro.

In the packet menu of the Program Setup Properties, I currently have the following

APRS Server Gateway-

Enable Transmission on this radio port (Which I imagine displays my station on APRS server)
Enable Reception on this radio report
Via Path- (nothing)
Beacon Info – Townsville 40m iGate
Beacon every- 30m

Port 1 with soundcard via Signalink Tx: HF300
Enable Transmission on this radio port (Beacon only I hope)
Enable Reception on this radio report
Via Path- GATE WIDE2-2
Beacon Info – Townsville 40m iGate
Beacon every- 30m

Port 2 with TNC Clone on COM3: VHF 1200
Enable Transmission on this radio port (Beacon only I hope)
Enable Reception on this radio report
Via Path- Gate Wide2-2
Beacon Info – Townsville 40m iGate
Beacon every- 30m

I’d really like to port HF to VHF here, so I’ll have to figure out how to do it.

I like the Google Maps interface available on AGWtracker

Categories: APRS
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

