Home > Daily News, HF > Ground Loops After Shack Reorganisation

Ground Loops After Shack Reorganisation

Today I spent all day cleaning and reorganising the shack. After Cyclone Yasi, there was much reorganisation to do in preparation for the new antennas, plus the shack was flithy.

I spent all day, and got most of it done, in time to fire up  the 703 for some PSK31 using HRD on my one and only PC ( I am Macintosh man). When I fired up 10m there was a bit of noise which is not unusual for 10 on occasions, but this seemed a bit too much, so I QSY to 20m only to be greeted with the worst hum I have ever had in this shack. Having worked for many years as a sound engineer for local bands, I quickly recognised it as a 50Hz earth (ground) loop noise, so I checked to see if my PC and radio power source were on different AC circuits- they were. I put them on the same AC circuit and the audible noise went away though a faint trace still showed on the waterfall display.

I have a really well built ground bus in the shack, but it is not yet connected to all equipment, so it looks like I’d best get that done.

Categories: Daily News, HF
  1. Felix vk4fuq
    April 9, 2011 at 11:15 am

    Hi David, I hate ground loops! Grrrrrr. They’re not always easy to solve, in my personal experience. I could show you some weird but really bizarre ground loops here in this home studio/ Ham Radio shack. Utterly bizarre! Good luck mate!

  2. olsenstours
    April 9, 2011 at 11:18 am

    Hi Felix.

    The best solution is a common ground, but not always easy to set up. I’ve had some doozies in the past when doing front=of-house for bands. One at JCU refectory had me scratching my head for ages.

    David

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

