Home > Uncategorized > Two Dead Radios- QRT for Now

Two Dead Radios- QRT for Now

I am not having a good week. My Icom IC703 finally stopped transmitting after giving intermitent service. It seems the dreaded driver transistor failure (caused by high temperature) occurred.


The IC703 is a good looking radio, but if you buy one, be sure to do these two mods before use

1. Driver bias check and adjustment-
2. Reduce driver circuit current drain-

Foundation licence holders note, you can’t do these mods yourself.

If that isn’t bad enough, my Barrett 950 also died. I am completely without HF radio except the Codan, which has no LSB crystal fitted.


My Barrett (above) has the low power setting adjusted to comply with the 10 watts limit of the Foundation Licence.

A Kenwood TM201A, 2m rig arrives in the post probably tomorrow, so I will get cracking on a 2 meter antenna.

I hope to have the Kenwood 2 meter rig here and a Quagi Antenna built in time for the VHF/UHF Field Day.

David

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Matt Lovelace - VK3FIXX
    March 14, 2017 at 8:53 am

    Hate to drag up an old post, but out of curiosity, how/where did you get your Barrett reprogrammed to drop down to 10 watts? or is it a physical modification to the board?

    I’m looking at doing it to mine so I can use it as an amateur radio, as I already have it sitting around gathering dust

    Matt – VK3FIXX

    • March 14, 2017 at 9:09 am

      I dropped it into a local radio tech who did the mod, no idea what he did and I live 2500 k away now. I no longer have that particular radio. The Low Power setting is I think 25 watts normally.

      • Matt Lovelace - VK3FIXX
        March 14, 2017 at 9:11 am

        yeah, it is normally 25, which is the problem for me using it.

        You don’t by any chance remember who the tech was?

  2. March 14, 2017 at 9:15 am

    I am really sorry, I don’t it was so long ago and I was very new to ham radio and as I say I no longer live anywhere near there. It could even have been done in Alice Springs as I spent lots of time there and there was a Barrett expert there. I wonder if you could use some form of attenuator between the set and the antenna?

  3. Matt Lovelace - VK3FIXX
    March 14, 2017 at 9:44 am

    It’s all good, was worth a try. I’m currently going through the programming software seeing if I can find it, if not, oh well, I’ll find my magic wand and make something work.

    Thanks 🙂

  4. March 14, 2017 at 6:37 pm

    Pretty sure it was a hardware mod

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

