Home > Uncategorized > Willis Island DXpedition Contact 80 Meters CW !!

Willis Island DXpedition Contact 80 Meters CW !!

What a buzz for a very inexperienced operator and F Call like myself to get the Willis Island DXpedition on CW.

QSOs found for VK4FOLO: 2
160 80 40 30 20 17 15 12 10 6
CW NO YES NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO
SSB NO YES NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO
RTTY NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO

After listening in on the Willis Island expedition pile-ups on both SSB and CW, I thought no way am I going to get through.

My success on SSB the previous night must have spurred me on. At that time, I had used a slightly defective G5RV antenna,  On SSB my sig report was 55, but since then I had fixed the G5RV and also put up a 160 meter sky loop, so I felt my sig would be better. The main concern was that at about 13 words per minute, I was going to be the slowest operator in the pile!

Of course the ops on Willis run split frequencies, but I had learned how to set my radio up for split operation, on previous nights. Tonight, It took me a while to find the listening frequency 3525.00, as the transmit frequency was 3501.95.

I sent out numerous “VK4FOLO” without success, then at 1327 UTC, I got a  reply. The op came back with a very fast “VK4FO?” (easy even for me to recognise despite his speed). I replied “VK4FOLO”, to which he returned “VK4FOLFO 5NN”. My reply was brief “TU 5NN UR 5NN” and that was it! Success!

The 5NN sig report was a bonus too. Not bad for 10 Watts on 80 meter CW via a 160 meter sky loop.

Love it.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

