Home > Daily News > A Licenced Amateur Radio Operator at Last

A Licenced Amateur Radio Operator at Last

I first became involved in HF radio at the age of 16 when I sat for my 3rd class certificate in radio telephony (coast guard). I then became active in the CB scene of the late 70’s. I built my own 4 element cubical quad and other antennas.

In 1979 I first attempted to study for my novice amateur operators license- unfortunately life intervened and I never did complete it.

I later became involved in HF radio via my role as a remote area 4wd tour operator, which rekindled my interest.

I heard about the foundation licence some time ago and quickly decided it was too good an opportunity to miss. I completed my foundation exam a few weeks ago and today I got my licence. I am on the air as an amateur radio operator at last- well as soon as I get my Barett radio reprogrammed by Barrett to meet the 10 W limit.

I also have my eye on an Icom IC703.

Categories: Daily News Tags:
  1. September 18, 2010 at 8:52 am

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

